#BlogTour #BookReview: The Start of Something Wonderful by Jane Lambert @JaneLambert22 @HQDigitalUK

The Start of Someting Wonderful Blog_Tour[3] (1)It’s never too late to follow your dreams…

Forty-year-old air stewardess, Emily Forsyth, thought she had everything a woman could wish for: a glamorous, jet-set lifestyle, a designer wardrobe and a dishy pilot boyfriend. Until he breaks up with her…

Catapulted into a mid-life crisis she wishes she’d had earlier, she decides to turn her life upside-down, quitting her job and instead beginning to chase her long-held dreams of becoming an actress!

Leaving the skies behind her, Emily heads for the bright lights of London’s West End – but is it too late to reach for the stars?

Don’t miss this heartwarming and uplifting debut, perfect for fans of Colleen Coleman and Cate Woods!

Continue reading “#BlogTour #BookReview: The Start of Something Wonderful by Jane Lambert @JaneLambert22 @HQDigitalUK”

Book Review: The Dirty Book Club by Lisi Harrison (9781451695977)

51aoPrUgPHLGloria, Dot, Liddy and Marjorie agreed to secret pact number thirty-four in 1962 that when their kids grow up and their husbands die, they will move to France.  On the same day they started pact number thirty-five, The Dirty Book Club.  “A fifty-four-year tradition that would save them all.”

M.J. Stark’s work was her escape.  When she was editing other people’s stories she forgot about her own, but when she was offered co-editor in chief of her magazine, it was a kick in the teeth.  She was promised editor-in-chief, but her boss didn’t think she could handle it by herself.  Therefore, she left New York and moved to California to live with her boyfriend, Dan Hartwell.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Dirty Book Club by Lisi Harrison (9781451695977)”

Book review: Little Black Dress by Susan McBride (0062027190)

Relationships between mothers and daughters can sometimes be intense, but when you put a magical little black dress into the mix, it’s extremely life changing.

The story carries you through the tempestuous relationship between Evie (mother) and Antonia (daughter) and the little black dress that brings them together.

I literally could not put this book down. I read it in one sitting. Every other chapter is written in either Evie’s voice or Antonia’s voice and the author does a fine job in the transition.

A great summer read!

Thank you to BookBrowse’s First Impression for giving me the opportunity to review this book.

Book review: Who Got Liz Gardner? by Elizabeth Allen (184923888X)

This book is for those women who fantasize about sexual adventures, and who enjoy “coming of age” books where the character finally “gets it”.  Not to mention you will laugh out loud at times.  Being the product of a dysfunctional family Liz Gardner is a free spirit who goes through men like butter and doesn’t look back. She knows what she wants and she takes it no matter the consequences. This book is her guide through her acting career, her wild and wacky relationships and finally a fitting ending. To say it in Liz’s words, “I drove through my life without a safety belt, miraculously surviving my reckless choices”. This is a fast-paced, hilarious first novel by Elizabeth Allen which I hope you will enjoy as much as I did.

Thank you to Elizabeth Allen for giving me the opportunity to review her novel.

Book Review: Crossroads by Belva Plain (0385336845)

Gwen Wright, daughter of wealthy entrepreneur, Cassandra Wright, is introverted and holding a secret. Her chance meeting with Jewel Fairchild, beautiful,confident and making a meager living, kicks off a life-long feud that dramatically changes their lives both good and bad. I listened to the audiobook and at first thought this story was based in the early 19th century and later realized that it was a contemporary novel. It is interesting how this book could actually be interpreted in another time. I enjoyed this refreshing novel which didn’t contain all the sex, drugs and violence that many contemporary books do.